I remember the saccharin feeling that the Little mermaid from Walt Disney gave. The end of that movie had the king saying, “she loves him so much,” right before doing the opposite of his prior history and changing to a human. There are many other philosophical problems with that movie, but note the focus of her obsession is provided as the reasoning for obtaining her desire.

Dating shows have populated the TV, and though I have not watched much, I have seen enough to tell their focus is finding an individual who satisfies him/herself. Self desire becomes the locus. Those who don’t fulfill that premise get removed from contention. I am reminded of the book, “Choosing God’s Best.” The premise presented is that dating is training for divorce as the individuals involved pick their associations from a self centered point of view. “If you appeal to me, I will spend time with you.” From this point of view, the participants are supposed to vow to stay with each other through thick, thin, rich, poor, sickness and health.

While sitting in the back of the funeral tent, it occurred to me that the reason for my presence there was that vow. Without this, there is no reason for my being here. That ceremony is the only reason I even knew about this event, let alone be part of the proceedings. I promised to be there through the bad, though the tough, and poor. Isn’t that the real expression of love? Love isn’t known through the parties and winnings. Love isn’t thoroughly experienced during the vacations. Love is known and experienced at o-dark-thirty when the other party is in need and requiring attention. Love is experienced when one is open and accepted – even with the disgusting stuff.

1 Corinthians 13: 4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

From here.

