Good morning from my keyboard. I have a purring cat in my lap occasionally interrupting my thoughts with a paw or attempted climb on the laptop. Coffee aroma is wafting from the cup to my left and things are good. There is a concept I have been playing with for some time, and to get into the subject I felt the need to examine some of my training and further understanding once older.
Church was a standard activity from before the time I was conscious of the act. I even attended before birth. 🙂 In other words, there was no choice of what was happening Sunday morning, evening, Wednesday evenings and special meetings. There is no complaint, just the acknowledgement of my upbringing. I would wish this on everyone. Yes, I would. Values are a good thing to get right out of the box. One item of discomfort with them – that is my church – was the idea of evolution. Since God made the world in 24 clock hours times six days, there was no way for anything to evolve. The big bang theory was God said it and “bang it happened.”
They did have good reason to worry about the theory. This generation had lived through world war II and knew the results of a continent steeped in the ideology lacking God. (from here.)

Viktor Frankl, a Holocaust survivor who endured the horrors of Auschwitz, astutely commented on the way that modern European thought had helped prepare the way for Nazi atrocities (and his own misery). He stated, “If we present a man with a concept of man which is not true, we may well corrupt him. When we present man as an automaton of reflexes, as a mind-machine, as a bundle of instincts, as a pawn of drives and reactions, as a mere product of instinct, heredity and environment, we feed the nihilism to which modern man is, in any case, prone. I became acquainted,” Frankl continued, “with the last stage of that corruption in my second concentration camp, Auschwitz. The gas chambers of Auschwitz were the ultimate consequence of the theory that man is nothing but the product of heredity and environment–or, as the Nazi liked to say, of ‘Blood and Soil.’ I am absolutely convinced that the gas chambers of Auschwitz, Treblinka, and Maidanek were ultimately prepared not in some Ministry or other in Berlin, but rather at the desks and in the lecture halls of nihilistic scientists and philosophers.”1

They understood that there were consequences resulting from the starting point one chose.

Next stop is college. This is a secular facility having the concept that all things come from simpler things. There were “true believers” for which any discussion was pointless and at the risk of being oversimplified, the push for this line of thought was that God was irrelevant. I remember one discussion that tried to evaluate the basis of ethics in terms of cultural associations. Example: we only behave this way as it is better in the interrelationships between individuals. It was not until my biochemistry senior level course that I had a professor who stated that there were about 6 common theories of evolution and every one of them had problems. “The problems with each are as follows…”

As I took these secular courses, it of course ran totally counter to my training from before day one, and after internally fighting the concepts for a while, I realized something interesting. There was something called a Bell Curve. This is the acknowledgement that across a population of a characteristic, there would be some of a light amount of character all the way to those with a great amount of that characteristic. Depending upon which fit in the environment at a particular time, determined which characteristic reproduced through the subsequent populations.
Medically speaking, take the antibiotic resistance of a certain bacteria. Some of this strain will have minimal resistance, and others great resistance. Apply a non-compliant patient who take only some of the antibiotic and that leaves the bacteria with the greatest resistance to multiply and produce the next generation of bacteria which has a greater resistance to the antibiotic. Wha-la, I had discovered it. Evolution was the mechanism allowing life to adapt across it population to a changing environment. Now try to go back to the church and explain it.
On that regard, I have to admit that some limited amounts of this concept have been explained, but there is still the fear that acknowledging the original idea eliminates God and leads us to the gulag.

