I work for a home health company. My boss is a really good individual for whom to work. How so? Besides the usual operation of the business, we are able to discuss work, personal, and leisure. The atmosphere with this boss is pleasant. There was a position open that I was filling to help until a replacement could be found. This same boss informed me that I was the best field nurse out there. (I sat on that thought for a while and it still hovers in the back of my mind.) It’s not that there is anything great going on back there, just the idea that I have reached the top of my ability in this area. With that in mind, I proposed to my boss that I stay in this open position. My presentation was that I had read that one should not take a job just for the money, but rather for the opportunity to learn. This job would force me to perform tasks on which I was not really good. The full intent of this was to force me to improve in those areas – and that was what I told my boss, who gave me the job. I am humbled and feel responsible to provide my best effort on this position because it is for my growth as well as the need of the company. Therefore, I thank my company for giving me this chance for self-improvement.
On the way home I was contemplating this interaction and it occurred that the only place for one to improve is on their deficits. It is only on those areas of lower abilities that one can improve. Focusing on strengths only aides maintenance, not improvement. It takes quite a place to accept one saying, “I’m not really good in this area, but I want this job so that I may get better at it.” Thank you.

