Article here.

Link here – READ THIS FIRST

From the comments:

Broher Pilot,
What I’m coming to realize is that the more organized, depersonalized the charitable event, they easier it is for some people to slip into bad behavior. One person to another person, you get a connection and understanding of each other. The person giving “sees” the person receiving, and vice versa. There’s appreciation on both sides. Get into large, impersonal giveaways where the donors (unlike the Salvation Army lady) don’t get to meet and understand the recipients. And the recipients don’t see the people trying to help. It becomes a taking, rather than a giving. And when you get to government programs that become completely depersonalized, it’s easier still to take it for granted. I’ll still help people, but I’ll choose to do it person to person.

August 25, 2014 at 7:09 AM

I don’t think any further comments are needed.  I’m just left with the question used as the title.

