Sometimes anticipation is delicious.  The trip to Disney, drive to Galveston for a cruise, drive to Cloudcroft for a week in the mountains, knowing the paycheck is coming…  Well that last one is standard for everyone.  Other anticipation is more like old underwear stewing on the back burner.  I received a call from my doctor last September from a scan I had of my gallbladder.  There was a polyp present.  Once the report arrived, I checked the particulars and it wasn’t too big, but it was there, and I had lived with symptoms of an odd specific chest pain for over 20 years already.  The doctor thought this might be the underlying issue.  After all, two stress echos, EKG’s and beta-blockers had not resolved the issue, maybe it was referred pain from this little gland.  I took the announcement in stride and realized that this was not an acute issue.  I had previous acute issues with appendix, hernia, and both knees.  When the pain is a 10, treatment is desired now.  NOW!  When my appendix got hot, I had never had an IV.  I didn’t like needles, and passed my arm to the nurse to do it.  That’s the impetus of an acute symptom.  This time, I have had months to consider the possibilities, think of the surgery, and more importantly, the changes resulting thereby.  Every one I have spoken to with a similar surgery informed me of the minimum of a year of diarrhea, and one stated he planned his day so that there would be nothing to do one-half hour after eating as his body demanded – without mercy – some attention at that point.  So there have been months for me to consider these issues and realize that there might be an issue here, there might not be.  But I know the effects awaiting afterwards whether or not this was the actual problem.  The surgeon made the argument that considering my family history, the chance for a cancerous growth would be removed.  Were the polyp to be a growth and go beyond the gallbladder, the treatment would be to remove part of the liver.  I guess that is the argument which has sustained my maintaining this appointment, though I am not looking forward to fulfilling that commercial where the ladies plan their activities according to the locations of the bathrooms…

