I work in a neurologist’s office.  Accordingly, we deal with nerves, nervous system, and the medications and symptoms related to that part of the anatomy.  We also schedule procedures and testing to ascertain the operation of those nerves.  One of those procedures is the EEG – electroencephalogram.  It looks at the electrical activity at specific locations in the brain.  The test requires application of probes to the scalp of the individual with wires to the machine collecting the data.  When the order comes, we send the request through insurance to gain approval and then it returns to me.  I then call the scheduler with any particulars requested by either the doctor or patient to get the testing time set.  Once the schedule is obtained, I call the patient to instruct and verify.  This instruction includes the preparation for the test.  I have a rather well rehearsed speech: “You will need to avoid all caffeine and caffeinated products for 12 hours prior to the test.  This will include coffee, tea, sodas, chocolate, and anything else containing caffeine.  Next, the hair needs to be clean and dry with nothing applied – no lotions, sprays, creams, etc.”  I was giving this instruction the other day when it occurred to me that one day… I will be speaking to a bald guy…

