I decided to place thoughts on an activity with which I had very little association.  Spouseinbox reminded me yesterday afternoon that the game was going to be on.  I replied OK, that has something to do with football, if I remember.  I kept busy during the afternoon and now the car has a new set of brakes.  Spouseinbox assisted on Thursday, and we installed a new power steering pump.  We also spent Saturday trying to adjust the valves and after tearing down the engine and doing adjustment, the tick still remains.  Oh well.  In other words, I decided to remain active and productive while half the country lounged with eyes glued to a moving picture.  Granted, it’s impressive to have half of this country with attention on anything, let alone something of a two-hour length.  Spouseinbox noted the desire to see the commercials, and that’s when another thought struck.  Hollywood produces movie after movie of regurgitated crud all the while adding social justice themes and politically correct fecal matter to what may have been a decent original story.  I heard about the commercials and realized that it was not a lack of talent.  When tasked with designing an original, attention-getting, sales-promoting commercial, there is writing talent available who perform the task well.

Spouseinbox worked on supper and made a mix of ground beef, veges, ketchup and barbecue sauce.  It was rather good.  While consuming the same, I did take a break in front of the moving picture box and heard how we were not to miss the half-time show.  What if I consciously decided not to watch?  Is that missing it?

Supper finished, and the stove free, I started on stuffed peppers and pizza.  We had dough remaining from yesterday when we had run out of cheese and put it in the fridge.  One afternoon activity was resupplying the food stocks.  I went ahead and made two pizzas- 1.) pepperoni with ground beef and black olive, 2.) turkey Alfredo with black olive.  These went into the freezer for some time this week.  We eat frozen pizzas too, it’s just ours are home-made and custom.  I really like doing it that way.  I add oregano, parsley, garlic, and onion to the dough while it is mixing and that gives the crust flavor.

With an additional pound of ground beef, I made stuffed green peppers which also took a spot in the freezer awaiting any particular evening we want to consume them.  There was a remaining amount of filling and I saw jumbo shells in the pantry, but was getting rather tired and decided to fill the shells later.

As for the ground beef, we buy the larger packages of it.  Yesterday’s piece was 8 pounds.  I like doing this as it makes processing the ground beef later much easier.  I break it up into chunks of over a pound and vacuum seal it, then take a rolling pin and flatten the package.  The resulting ground beef package is about 3/4″ thick and 6×8 inches in size.  It takes only a few minutes in hot water to thaw and be usable and stacks very well in the freezer.  By the time I add the packaging and time, it doesn’t save money.  I just do this for the convenience of having those flattened rectangles of meat.

While I was thus employed, I remember hearing (I was in the kitchen, remember) the number 21 a few times and noting an interesting number of fouls and a seemingly heavy number of calls.  I don’t normally watch football, but did note hearing from officials many, many times which seemed a higher frequency than I would have expected.  On that note, I was considering maybe the players were in a heightened state and behaving according to their adrenaline levels.

Just so you know I peek out from under my rock occasionally: I won the door prize a couple of decades ago at a banquet I attended.  The room erupted with cheers and I went to the front to claim my prize – two clubhouse seat tickets to see the Atlanta Falcons.  I took them back to the table and asked, “who are the Falcons?”  I went to the game with the now ex and saw them almost lose the game on the last two minutes.  So there you have it – I have actually attended a pro football game.  What I remember from the game was that there were a couple of annoying kids seated a couple of rows in front of us, hot dogs were not even a food option, we could not afford what was offered, and the television makes the players look so much closer.  I don’t even remember who they played.  Oh well.

