When checking in a patient, I check their birthdays.  It saves having someone with a similar name come to the wrong office.  I speak from experience here.  Anyways, this individual mentioned parents and I noted that they were born in the 1880’s and commented that reasonably, the grandparents were in the civil war.  This patient agreed.

I noted this exchange to my doctor who stated that post the civil war, the veterans married young wives.  During this doctor’s youth, there were parades in the hometown where the civil war wives were greeting the crowds.

My first hospital job was at the VA.  There was a nurse who finished 30 years during my presence.  This nurse stated that at an early association with another VA, one patient was an actual veteran of the Spanish-American war.

