Yesterday evening, I tried to get some work done on the truck.  The window was removed from the track and the cruise control was now installed, but not working.  I started working on the cruise control and reset the settings on the unit in the engine compartment as well as tried hooking up the brake wire to two different wires on the brake switch.  As to that last point, this cruise control was made in the 80’s and was designed for a simple switch.  One wire was to the hot side of the brake light switch, the other to the light side of the switch.  This was the connection to allow the cruise to know when the brake pedal was depressed.  My switch has 6 wires and three show conductivity with the brake light.  I tried hooking up to all three and had no luck getting the unit to operate.  My next plan is to run a wire from the bulb itself up to the engine and hook up to the sensor wire there.  If that doesn’t work, my next and last idea is to buy another switch, install it next to the other one and create my own brake light switch.  Oh the joys of rigging equipment.

Spouseinbox helped with the door and I busted the window crank handle removing it.  There was a retaining clip I knew was there, but could not find.  I plan to get another handle and pop it into place.  After disassembling the interior of the door, I tried to push the window back into the clips and it wouldn’t go.  I then tried a tie-down strap and twisted the clip at the window as tightening the strip caused the joint there to bend.  With twisting that joint to straight and applying pressure via the tie-down strap, the window was put back in place.  It now operates as it should.  We reassembled the door and all is well, except the crank handle.

All told, a cruise control that didn’t work still doesn’t, a window crank is broken and will need a replacement, and a window is now back in its holders as it is supposed to be.

