I got inspired this morning.  That is, I wanted a cinnamon roll.  It’s entire impractical to make just one, so I made a batch and took them to work.  I guess my reputation has started to grow since I was walking towards the building and noted the work van heading towards a satellite clinic.  The driver stopped in the middle of the road and asked for a contribution.  I gave away two rolls before even getting to the facility parking lot.  The recipe is simple:

just shy of 4 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup margarine, though I just use a knife and put in whatever looks like enough

2 tsp yeast

couple shakes of cinnamon

small shake of nutmeg.

1 tsp of salt – measured by pouring in the hand, of course

Place in machine and run dough cycle until into the last rise.  My machine takes a bit under an hour to get there.

Roll out on a floured board and make a rectangle about 8″ x 14 inches that’s about 1/2″ thick.  Next drizzle melted margarine over all but one edge of the upper surface to just coat.  Cover completely with cinnamon, except that dry strip along the long edge.  Add a little Nutmeg.  Roll from the coated long side towards the bare long side.  Wet the long side and secure to the roll.  Obtain about 3 feet of button thread.  Slide the thread under the roll and pass the ends across each other about 1″ from the end.  Pull.  This will neatly cut a 1″ thick circle.  Repeat this process until the entire roll is cut.  Place the circles on a greased pan and let rise.  Spray with water occasionally and putting on the stove above the heated oven helps in the rising time.  An actual proofing oven runs at 105 degrees and 100% humidity.  I don’t have that, so improvise.  It works.  For bread, I use an upside down cooler over the edge of the oven to catch the exhaust of the oven and help the bread to rise.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 12 minutes, or until just starting to brown.  Remove from the pan and let cool.  Frost with a mixture of powdered sugar and small amount of water which has been run in the microwave for a few seconds.  Enjoy.

